#ReflectiveTeacher Day 13 – edtech tools

reflections, technology

Hm…this is so crazy because I started out in a school that embraced technology and now due to my technology deficit over the past year, I am not even sure if I know what edtech tools are.  Are we talking about technology tools in general or are there particular tools that I should know about that fall under the category “edtech”?

I feel like I am really reiterating myself a lot throughout this blogging experience, but to do it again, as I previously mentioned, last year there was a lack of technology.  This year, I have tons at my finger tips, but I haven’t put it to use yet.  Mainly because I have some classroom management issues that are new to me this year and I would hesitate to trust some of these kids with a pencil, let alone an iPad.  I do however just give them the pencils even though they are high school students and they pretty much just throw them on the floor when they are done with them along with everything else I give them.  It’s nuts.

But none of this is neither here nor there, other than, I am not currently using edtech or anytech tools.  But in the perfect world when things get settled, my favorite technology tools in the Spanish classroom are anything where all the kids can participate or collaborate at once.

I love google docs, presentations, forms, spreadsheets, etc.  I love Voicethread although I am uncertain if I am going to be able to use it at this school because I believe it costs money now.  I used a tool called Socrative at my old district which was neat because the students could compete to finish a short review quiz, etc.  I’d like to get their cellphones loaded with Bakodo or something similar so that they can read barcodes and be led to explore, perhaps for a warmup.  I have some upper level classes that are small so I think I will start small with them and then branch out to my other classes so that everyone can benefit.  I want to try Google Classroom.  It looks simplistic but I am sure it is useful.

So, not sure if this answers the questions but there you have it.

Leave a Reply

